Stemmer fra Øresund

- et korværk for 8 højtalere

(Voices from the Sound - a choral work for 8 speakers)



What was the next thing this strange girl would do? If she seriously had unfolded a pair of big white wings
and had flown from the pier away in the summer air,
 it would not have surprised the people in Elsinore. 

 Karen Blixen The Supper at Elsinore

The Sound Toll existed in the years 1429-1857 and made the city Elsinore rich and notorious in all of Europe. The small strait between Elsinore in Denmark and Helsingborg in Sweden was an important trade route for the Dutch, the British and the Germans among others. In the years around 1800 more than 300 ships docked at Elsinore Port each day.  Their cargo was cleared and all the goods listed in the Sound Toll protocols.  In 2006-2016 the protocols of 700 volumes were digitalized and published in an online database. This Database is the starting point for MA Archive's "Voices from the Sound".

MA Archive delved into thousands of exsotic goods in the cargo holds of the ships.  The prologue draws a picture of the global luxury that floated through the city of Elsinore for centuries. The coral work then moves to Karen Blixen's "The Supper at Elsinore", where we meet two sisters who lives in Elsinor in the beginning of the 19th century. Their brother has gone out to sea and the sisters long away from their restrictive bourgeois life too.

Karen Blixen's story is about women in a time where the possibilities were few and the choises in life were limited to marriage. Two linguistic characters that runs through the story are birds and fabrics: a picture of the woman as a bird in a cage, decoraded with silk fabrics.  

"Voices from the Sound" presented 8 speakers that stood singing into the Sound of Elsinore while exotic goods, historic details of Elsinore were merged into a different tale about birds in cages and the free movement of goods.


Idea, libretto and composition: MA Archive

Voices: Vigga Bro, Ina Miriam Rosenbaum and others.

Technical supervision: Ida Jacobsen and Anders Amdisen.

Sound engineering: Kim Littau

Thanks to: Passage Festival, Helsingør Teater, LR Audio.